Pyin Oo Lwin, 68km southest Mandalay, is an old yet worth-visiting colonial hill station standing 1,050 meter over the ocean level. In 1886, it was constructed by Colonel May and called Maymyo (May’s town). With a favorable geographical position, Pyin Oo Lwin as moderate temperature – maintaining being cool throughout the year.
During the early 1900s the Government of Burma moved to Maymyo (the earlier name of present-day Pyin Oo Lwin) to escape the heat. Although the original Government House (left), constructed in 1903, was completely destroyed in about 1943, many houses, shops and churches from that period remain. An exact replica of Government House has now been built as a high class hotel, and there are plans for a Maymyo Museum to be housed in it. The original town plan has hardly changed, and Circular Road runs along the bottom of the ridge, once known as The Rides, a favorite colonial recreational area. In actual fact, there were a number of horse riding trails, radiating out from the town into the countryside, and these were very well used until the early 1940s. Today various unmarked traces of these rides can be found, often looking like country tracks, even in well populated areas.